thanks but i’ll pass

I went to my hoohaw earlier this week for an annual exam, and while he was doing what he does, he asked me if I was planning on staying on my birth control all year. At first I didn’t know what the heck he was talking about. And then I realized… he meant kiddos. After all, he reminded me I’m almost 35.

Have I told you I don’t want kids? I’ve never had any interest in popping out spawn, and frankly, the thought of kids scares the crap out of me. So I’m glad I saw a Marie Claire article this week that voices a lot of the same reasons I don’t want any children.  And it also goes into the flak women get when they decide to remain sans kiddos.

And yes, I told the hoohaw doc that I’m staying on my birth control this year… and the year after… and the year after …

2 thoughts on “thanks but i’ll pass

  1. Hmmm. Probably a good choice; the current life expectancy for women in the US is 79.something and falling. Writing off those last 9.something years as full of end of life ailments and nursing home blues, that means you really only have another 35 “good” years left.

    In other words, having children now would probably only be the desperate act of a woman deep in the thoes of a mid-life crisis…

    ; ‘ )

    Like

Leave a Reply

